Volunteer Battalions of the Sherwood Foresters: 1887

In April 1887 Queen Victoria announced, following General Order No 39, that the 1st and 2nd Derbyshire Rifle Volunteer Corps should thereafter be known as the 1st and 2nd Volunteer Battalion of the Sherwood Foresters (The Derbyshire Regiment).

1st Volunteer Battalion, The Sherwood Foresters


Post-1902 Form of Enrolment for the 1st Volunteer Battalion, The Sherwood Foresters (Nottinghamshire and Derbyshire Regiment)

1 VB

1st Volunteer Battalion Sherwood Foresters (Notts & Derby) 1905. Senior NCO Proficiency Star above chevrons1 VB badgeClear view of the Unit Shoulder Badge

2nd Volunteer Battalion, The Sherwood Foresters

In 1889 Headquarters moved from Bakewell to Chesterfield.

2VB Badge

2vb enlistment

Post-1902 Form of Enrolment for the 2nd Volunteer Battalion, The Sherwood Foresters (Nottinghamshire and Derbyshire Regiment)

2VB Gazette 1985Mobilisation Report 1895

Mobilisation Report for the 2nd Volunteer Battalion, the Derbyshire Regiment in May 1895 showing the home station and strength of the 10 Companies that comprised the Battalion. In total 876 Officers and Men were on strength of the 2nd Volunteer Battalion.

Names of the Commanding Officers are as follows:-

  • 1859-69: Colonel Lord George Henry Cavendish
  • 1869-97: Colonel James Charles Cavendish, ADC, VD
  • 1897-1900: Colonel Edward Hall, VD
  • 1900-1904: Colonel Herbert Brooke-Taylor
  • 1904-1912: Colonel Geoffrey Meinertzhagen Jackson

Companies were based in the following Towns and Village:-

  • A Company: Chesterfield
  • B Company: Chapel-en-le-Frith and New Mills
  • C Company: Ashbourne
  • D Company: Bakewell, Chatsworth, Tideswall and Buxton
  • E Company: Wirksworth
  • F Company: Matlock Bridge
  • G Company: Clay Cross
  • H Company: Whaley Bridge
  • I Company: Hartington
  • K Company: Stavely, Barrowhill and Brimington

    2VB Service

    1st Nottinghamshire (Robin Hood) Rifle Corps

    Formation of the North Midland Brigade: 1888

In 1888 the North Midland Brigade was formed, which included the 1st and 2nd Derbyshire, 1st Nottinghamshire Rifles, 4th Derbyshire and 1st North Staffs Regiment and was under the Command of Colonel Sir Henry Wilmot from 1888 until 1895.


Colonel Sir Henry Wilmot, 5th Baronet Wilmot of Chaddesden VC KCB (3 February 1831 – 7 April 1901)

The Annual Camps: 1892 – 1907

1 Volunteer Camps 1892 1902

Details of the Volunteer Annual Camps held between 1892 and 1909

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s